Circum-Baikal Railway

If you are planning to visit Lake Baikal, you are advised to get acquainted with a unique engineering monument – the Circum-Baikal Railway or Krugobaikalka in short as it is usually called. This railway branch with a length of 85 km, being a section of the Trans-Siberian Railway in the past, runs along the south-western shore of the lake connecting the Town of Slyudyanka and Port Baikal.
Initially, the Circum-Baikal Railway was longer: 260 km from Port Baikal on the western shore to Mysovaya (today it is the Town of Babushkin) on the eastern shore. The eastern section of the Trans-Siberian Railway (Slyudyanka-Mysovaya) still belongs to the East-Siberian Railway (ESRW). After the construction of Irkutsk Hydropower Station on the Angara River (1956), Port Baikal became a dead-end siding because a section of the railway (the Irkutsk-Baikal branch) was flooded. Before damming, the railway ran along the left bank of the Angara River to Irkutsk. The Circum-Baikal Railway was the only link in the Trans-Siberian Railway. The name “Circum-Baikal Railway” or “Old Railway” is attributed only to the western dead-end section.
The Circum-Baikal Railway has lost its strategic importance. However, being one of the world’s most beautiful railways with unique engineering constructions it has become an architectural-landscape reserve. Picturesque cliffs along the narrow Lake Baikal coast harmonise with the stone masonry of retaining walls, tunnels and galleries, bridges and viaducts that have been considered engineering technical art. This art monument is more than hundred years old.
In 1891, the Tsar Alexander III issued a decree on the construction of the Great Siberian Railway named as the Trans-Siberian Railway. The Committee of the Siberian Railway founded in 1892 had to choose routes, find sponsors and control the construction and other activities. Nicholas, an heir to the throne, subsequently the Emperor Nicholas II was the Chairman of Committee. According to the project, the railway was divided into 7 sections including the Circum-Baikal Railway. The construction of the Circum-Baikal Railway started in 1902. This railway section appeared to be the most costly: efforts, complexity of work and costs. Rocky relief of the coast with abrupt slopes affected the choice of the route. The major part of the railway line was laid in tunnels or on artificial shelves cut out of the rock; the sides of the railway were strengthened with retaining walls. The aggregate value of one kilometer of the Circum-Baikal railway was about 130 thousand rubles (compared to 93 thousand rubles on the other sections of the Trans-Siberian Railway). The threat and onset of the Russian-Japanese war speeded up the construction of the railway. The first trains began to circulate in September 1904. In mid October 1905, the road was brought into permanent operation. Initially, only one track was built; from 1911 to 1915 the second track was finished. The Circum-Baikal Railway that was called “the golden buckle of the steel belt of Russia” linked the Trans-Siberian Railway around Lake Baikal and its active exploitation started.
Nowadays the Circum-Baikal Railway is included in the List of Historical-Cultural Heritage Sites as a monument of architecture. It represents almost everything what the experience of the world railway construction has gained. The route Slyudyanka-2 – Kultuk – Marituy – Baikal crosses about 40 tunnels with the total length of 9,063 km, 16 stony galleries (295 m), about 470 culverts, including bridges, viaducts, pipes and flumes, as well as 250 retaining walls. This complex is unique due to the elegance of engineering and architectural constructions that are harmonically match the shoreline of Lake Baikal and have been well preserved.
The Circum-Baikal Railway is an active monument. One diesel locomotive with several cars runs back and forth (from Slyudyanka to Port Baikal). The local people call it “yo-yo back and forth” (motanya) or “transfer”. Its main function is to provide the citizens of the roadside settlements with all necessary articles: it is possible to transport both a cow and matches. This kind of transport is also popular with tourists. The travelling time is 4 hours 40 minutes. Moreover, special tourist trains with comfortable cars run from Irkutsk making stops in the most interesting places.
The route of the Circum-Baikal Railway abounds in numerous archeological (ancient sites) and natural (“Rookery”, “Marble of Port Baikal”, “Shaman Cape”, “White Groove”, “Slyudaynskiye Lakes and many others) monuments. Botanical and zoological, geological, engineering and archeological complexes are taken as integrated natural-cultural ensembles.
Summer is the hot tourist season. Campsites, sports and recreation centres that are ready to offer more comfortable conditions are located along the Circum-Baikal Railway:
  • Boarding House “Nadezhda”, 71 km, Settlement of Baikal, Molchanova Valley;
  • Guest Yard “Yakhont”, 74 km, Settlement of Baikal;
  • Holiday Camp of Fenina, 74 km, settlement Baikal, Shchelka Valley;
  • Guest House “Serebryany Klyuch” (Silver Key), 80 km;
  • Holday Camp “Elektrosvyaz”, 80 km, Bolshoy Baranchik Valley;
  • Holiday Camp “Khvoinaya” (Coniferous), 98 km (the former station Khvoynaya);
  • Holiday Camp “Shumikha”, 102 km, Settlement of Shumikha;
  • Holiday Camp of East-Siberian Railway, 137 km, Sharyzhalgay-3 Valley;
  • Children’s Sports Camp “ Sharyzhalgay”, 138 km;
  • Alpinist Camp of Irkutsk Regional Alpinist Federation “Angasolka”, 149 km, Settlement of Angasolka.
It is important to know for those who are going to hike!!!
You have to bring with you:
  • good footwear for hiking on crushed rock along the railway;
  • a flashlight for examining tunnels and galleries in order not to encounter unpleasant surprises: holes, sleepers across the track, etc.;
  • first-aid kit (first-aid posts are located in Settlements of Baikal and Kultuk);
  • foodstuff (shops are only in these settlements; the distance between them is over 80 km; there is a shop at 149 km in Angasolka);
  • insect repellent (ticks, mosquitoes, blackflies, wasps, etc.);
  • the most important thing – you should be careful.
One should remember that the railway is active and there is train traffic. It is very dangerous to climb mountains: the rocks here are loose and constantly crumble, as well as the slopes of the railway crumble easily. It is advisable to go down to the shore following the path. Lines of electric power transmission on concrete posts along the entire track of the railway are under high voltage and not insulated. Besides ticks, venomous snakes inhabit this area.
 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Кругобайкальская ЖД

О КБЖД

Если вы собрались в путешествие по Байкалу, постарайтесь внести в свои планы знакомство с уникальным инженерным памятником – Кругобайкальской железной дорогой или просто Кругобайкалкой, как ее обычно называют. Эта железнодорожная ветка длиной 85 км, в прошлом часть Транссибирской магистрали, проходит по юго-западному берегу озера, соединяя город Слюдянка и порт Байкал.

География
Изначально Кругобайкальским назывался существенно больший участок: 260 км от порта Байкал на западном берегу озера до Мысовой (сегодня – г. Бабушкин) на восточном. Восточная часть этого отрезка Транссиба (Слюдянка – Мысовая) и сейчас действует в составе ВСЖД. А порт Байкал стал железнодорожным тупиком в результате возведения плотины Иркутской ГЭС, перекрывшей Ангару и затопившей часть пути – Иркутск-Байкальскую ветвь (1956г.). До этого дорога, скрывшаяся под водой, от порта Байкал шла дальше, по левому берегу Ангары до Иркутска, а Кругобайкалка была единственной связующей нитью в Транссибирской магистрали. Название «Кругобайкальская железная дорога» или «Старая дорога» осталось за западным, тупиковым участком.
Кругобайкалка потеряла свою стратегическую важность, но являясь одной из самых красивых и насыщенных инженерными сооружениями железных дорог мира, получила статус архитектурно-ландшафтного заповедника. Живописные скалы узкой полоски побережья Байкала, по которой прошла магистраль, органично сливаются с каменной кладкой подпорных стенок, тоннелей и галерей, мостами и виадуками, по праву признанными инженерно-техническим искусством. Памятниками искусства, которым уже более ста лет.
История
Еще в 1891 году Александр III издал указ о начале строительства Великого сибирского пути, получившего название Транссибирской магистрали. В 1892 г. был образован Комитет Сибирской железной дороги, в задачи которого входили выбор маршрутов, кредитование, контроль над строительными работами и др. Председателем Комитета стал наследник цесаревич Николай, впоследствии император Николай II. При проектировании магистраль разделили на 7 участков, среди которых был Кругобайкальский. Непосредственно к строительству КБЖД приступили в начале 1902. Этот участок оказался самым ресурсоемким во всех отношениях: и по количеству работ, и по их сложности и по стоимости он превзошел все железные дороги России. Скалистый рельеф берега с крутыми откосами определил маршрут. Значительная часть дороги прокладывать в тоннелях или на полках, вырубленных в скалах, откосы укреплялись подпорными стенками. Каждый километр Кругобайкалки обошелся в среднем в 130 тысяч рублей, тогда как на других участках Транссиба один километр стоил около 93 тысяч. Что касается сроков, то строительство магистрали ускорили (на год) угроза и начало Русско-японской войны. Первый поезд по первому пути прошел через два с половиной года, в сентябре 1904, а в середине октября 1905 года было открыто постоянное движение. Второй путь был достроен в 1911-1915 гг. Кругобайкальская железная дорога, которую до революции называли «Золотой пряжкой стального пояса России», замкнула Транссибирскую магистраль вокруг Байкала – началась ее активная эксплуатация.
Достопримечательности
Сегодня КБЖД внесена в Перечень объектов историко-культурного наследия общероссийского значения в качестве памятника архитектуры. Здесь есть практически все, что накопила практика мирового железнодорожного строительства того времени. На маршруте Слюдянка-2 – Култук – Маритуй – Байкал около 40 тоннелей общей длиной 9063 м, 16 каменных галерей (295 м), около 470 водопропускных сооружений – мостов, виадуков, труб и лотков, а также более 250 подпорных стенок. Уникальность всего комплекса заключается в изяществе инженерных и архитектурных решений, столь гармонично вписанных в береговую линию Байкала и сохранившихся до наших дней в первозданном виде.
Кругобайкалка – памятник действующий. Раз в день, туда-сюда (Слюдянка – станция «порт Байкал»), курсирует один тепловоз с несколькими вагонами. Поезд в народе называют «мотаня» или «передача». Его основное назначение – обеспечить жителей придорожных селений всем необходимым: и корову можно перевезти, и спички. Также в список перевозимого традиционно попадают туристы. Время в пути 4 часа 40 минут. Кроме того, здесь периодически ходят специальные туристические поезда из Иркутска, с комфортабельными вагонами и остановками в наиболее интересных местах.
Маршрут КБЖД, помимо достопримечательностей самой железной дороги, изобилует многочисленными археологическими (стоянки древнего человека) и природными («Птичий базар», «Мраморы порта Байкал», «Мыс Шаманский», «Белая Выемка», «Слюдянские озера» и многие другие) памятниками. Ботанические и зоологические, геологические, инженерные и архитектурные комплексы воспринимаются как единые природно-культурные ансамбли.
Где отдохнуть
Наибольший поток туристов летом. Вдоль КБЖД располагаются палаточные лагеря, а также спортивные базы и базы отдыха, готовые предложить более комфортабельные условия:
  • Пансионат «Надежда». 71 км, пос. Байкал, падь Молчанова;
  • Гостевой двор «Яхонт». 74 км, пос. Байкал;
  • Турбаза Фенина. 74 км, пос. Байкал, падь Щелка;
  • Гостевой дом «Серебряный ключ». 80 км;
  • База отдыха «Электросвязь». 80 км, падь Бол. Баранчик;
  • База отдыха «Хвойная». 98 км, (бывшая станция Хвойная);
  • База отдыха «Шумиха». 102 км, поселок Шумиха;
  • База отдыха ВСЖД. 137 км, падь Шарыжалгай-3;
  • Спортивный детский лагерь ВСЖД «Шарыжалгай». 138 км;
  • База Иркутской областной федерации альпинизма «Ангасолка». 149 км, пос. Ангасолка (старая).
Что стоит знать
Если вы намерены путешествовать пешком, необходимо знать!!!
Вам понадобятся:
  • крепкая обувь, способная выдержать колотую щебенку насыпи ж/д пути;
  • фонарик, без которого не стоит заходить в тоннели и галереи, чтобы не наткнутся на сюрпризы «доброжелателей» – ямы, шпалы поперек пути и тому подобное;
  • аптечка (медпункты только в поселках Байкал и Култук);
  • провизия (магазины в тех же поселках, а между ними больше 80 км, кроме одного, на 149 км в Ангасолке);
  • средства от всевозможных насекомых (клещи, комары, мошка, осы и т.д.);
  • и самое главное – осторожность.
Нужно помнить, что железная дорога действующая, и по ней ходят поезда. Очень опасно лазанье по скалам, горные породы здесь рыхлые и постоянно осыпаются. Также легко осыпаются откосы железнодорожного полотна, спускаться к берегу лучше по тропинкам. Провода линии электропередачи на бетонные столбах, установленных на всем протяжении пути, под высоким напряжением и не изолированы. Помимо уже упомянутых клещей, водятся ядовитые змеи.

 

 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru