Olkhon Island

History

Archaeological and historical findings prove that Olkhon Island was inhabited by people dating back from the Lithic Age to the beginning of the 20th century. By 1993, 143 archaeological type-sites had been known: caves with the traces of habitation of ancient people, petroglyphs, the so-called cleavages – traces of stone dressing, ancient settlements, sites, burials, religious and fortified constructions. The most remarkable constructions are ruins of walls of an ancient fortress crossing Cape Khorgoy in its narrowest part (I. Chersky found it in 1879). These walls are likely to have served as a fortification against nomads or have been religious constructions for demarcation of public and sacral space which was inhabited by gods and spirits. For example, people burials in a form of burial mound covered with stony plates were discovered at Cape Shibetey behind such a wall. Historians believe that sanctuary settlements and burials on Olkhon Island were built by kurykans, an ancient Turkic people inhabiting Pribaikalye in the 6-9th centuries.

The Russians came for the first time here in the mid 17th century. In 1643, Kurbat Ivanov, a semi-sotnik (Cossack lieutenant), together with 75 “soldiers and eager and promiscuous people” from the Verkholensky stockade fort landed at the shore of Maloye More along the Sarma valley and sailed across Maloye More to Olkhon Island. A lot of coins date back to approximately the same time. Some of them can be found almost under the very surface of the ground.
Little things, old buttons and coins (from Mongolian “squares” turned green and Katherine five-kopeck coins to almost recent coins) which can be found up till now keep memory of those who lived here on their own will or by force during imperial and post-revolutionary times. Under Stalin, there were camps for “enemies of the people”. Prisoners were engaged in fishing of the famous Baikal fish omul. There was no need to guard them because of icy water and impenetrable taiga around the lake. 

There is no other place on Lake Baikal but Olkhon Island to which so many articles and books are devoted (“Olkhon as a Native Place”, “Profane and Sacral Worlds of Olkhon Buryats, etc.). There is also an interesting local history museum at school in Khuzhir where it is possible to get acquainted with the collection of ancient items which demonstrate the way of life and culture of islanders. This museum was founded by Nikolay Revyakin, a teacher of geography and local historian, and his students.

 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Ольхон

История

О том, что с глубокой древности  Ольхон обитаем, говорят археологические и исторические находки, датированные от каменного века до начала 20-го.  К 1993 году на острове было известно 143 археологических объекта. Пещеры со следами обитания древнего человека, наскальные рисунки, так называемые сколы - следы обработки каменных орудий, городища, стоянки, погребения, культовые и оборонительные сооружения. К числу наиболее примечательных относятся развалины стены древней крепости, перерезающие мыс Хоргой в самой узкой его части (обнаружена в 1879 г. И.Черским). Возможно, что такие стены служили укреплением для защиты от кочевников, либо были сооружены не в оборонительных целях, а в культовых - для разграничения общедоступного пространства и сакрального, где обитают духи и боги. Так за подобной стеной на мысе Шибетей найдены захоронения людей, закрытые в виде могильного холма каменными плитами. Как считают историки, создателями городищ-святилищ и могильников Ольхона были курыканы - древнетюркская народность, жившая в Прибайкалье в VI-XI вв.

Русские пришли сюда впервые в середине XVII века. В 1643 году полусотничий Курбат Иванов с 75 «охочими, служивыми и гулящими людьми» из Верхоленского острога вышел по долине Сармы на берег Малого моря и переправился на Ольхон. Приблизительно тем же временем датируется немало монет, которые до сих пор можно найти на острове почти у самой поверхности земли.

Вообще небольшие вещицы, старые пуговицы, монеты (от позеленевших монгольских «квадратиков» и екатерининских пятаков, до почти современных), которые попадаются и по сей день, хранят память о тех, кто жил здесь по собственной воле или вынужденно в имперские и послереволюционные времена. При Сталине на Ольхоне были оборудованы лагеря для «врагов народа». Заключенные  занимались ловлей знаменитого омуля. Ледяная вода вокруг и непроходимая тайга за озером не требовали особой охраны.

Ни об одном месте Байкала не написано столько статей и книг, как об Ольхоне («Ольхон - край родной», «Профанный и сакральный миры ольхонских бурят» и т.д.). А в  поселке Хужир при школе существует замечательный краеведческий музей, где все желающие могут познакомиться с коллекцией старинных предметов, отражающих быт и культуру островитян. Музей был организован учителем географии и местным краеведом Николаем Михайловичем Ревякиным и его учениками.

 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru