Chivyrkuy Bay

About Chivyrkuy Bay

From the book by V.V. Lamakin “A tour around the shores and islands of Lake Baikal”, Moscow: Nauka. 1965.

“Chivyrkuy Bay is an isolated corner of Lake Baikal which differs in many aspects from other areas of the lake. Whereas the Baikal nature is very severe, Chivyrkuy Bay strikes a traveler with its tender scene. Its relatively gently sloping shores with soft contours are almost completely covered with thick forests. High mountains, which are topped in the middle of the Svyatoy Nos (Sacred Nose) Peninsular, and mountain peaks without vegetation on the southern end of the Barguzin Ridge draw back from the bay. Narrow cosy lagoons run deep inland.

Chivyrkuy Bay is not deep, and the southern end of the bay is the shallowest. Here the Chivyrkuy Isthmus separates Chivyrkuy Bay form Barguzin Bay. Due to its shallowness, the water in Chivyrkuy Bay is warmed up well in summer; the water is in blossom for a long period of time, i.e. numerous fine algae fill in the bay. Strong storms do not enter the bay from the open Lake Baikal.

Geography and origin

Chivyrkuy Bay, another largest bay of Lake Baikal, is situated in the north-east of the lake. It is the second in area (270 km2) after Barguzin Bay. Chivyrkuy Bay is surrounded from the west by mountain peaks of Svyatoy Nos Peninsular (Buryat name “Khilmen-Khushun”, it means “Sturgeon’s Muzzle”), from the east – by branches of the Barguzin Ridge. High eastern and western shores composed of ancient granites are partitioned and abound in numerous picturesque lagoons and capes with wild sandy beaches surrounded by woody slopes. From the south, the bay is separated by Svyatoy Nos (or Chivyrkuy) Isthmus, the shore here is low and boggy.

The mountainous Svyatoy Nos Peninsular used to be an island separated from the shore by a narrow strait. About 7-8 thousand years ago, it was connected with the mainland: the Rivers Maly Chivurkuy and Barguzin and Baikal storms filled the strait with silt and sand. As a result, the alluvial, lake-boggy Svyatoy Nos Isthmus (its local name is Myagkaya Karga – in English Gentle Hag) turned the island into the only large peninsular at Lake Baikal – Svyatoy Nos, and the strait – into Chivyrkuy Bay of 26 km long and 6-12 km wide.

The entire territory of the bay is included in the protected zone of Zabaikal National Park. There are seven islands in Chivyrkuy Bay, the four being natural monuments: Bolshoy Baklaniy, Bolshoy Kyltygey, Maly Kyltygey, Bely Kamen (White Stone), Sacred Elena, Dead Stone, and Kovrizhka (Gingerbread). All of them are protected zones with limited access.

Name

They say that the modern name of the bay comes from the Bolshoy Chivyrkuy Bay River entering the bay from the north. “Chivir” in the Evenk language means to twist, to move, to stir. According to another version, the name “Chivyrkuy” originates from the Buryat “sheber” – thicket, thick forest, bush – it means overgrown with thick forest.

Population

Chivyrkuy Bay is sparsely populated. There are only three small settlements on the shores of the bay: Monakhovo, Katun and Kurbulik. The total number of homesteads in Katun and Kurbulik is 40-50, and in Monakhovo – about ten. In Kurbulik, there is a cordon of Zabaikal National Park and a shop. The majority of tourists stay in Monakhovo.

Depth and water temperature

The interior part of the bay is shallow. The depth being 600 m at the entrance of the bay decreases to the south – 10-20 m, and in lagoons – 5 m. The waters of Chivyrkuy Bay are warmed up well due to a great number of sunny days. In summer by early August, the water temperature reaches 20-22ºC, and in the southern part of the bay it can be even higher. The nature of this unique corner created conditions necessary for summer holiday: cosy wind-sheltered lagoons, clean sandy beaches and warm transparent water.

Landscapes

The combination of the most diverse Baikal landscapes on such a small area striking the imagination is another factor which makes Chivyrkuy Bay very attractive for tourists. Here you can see sandy bars alternating with small lakes and goosefoot marshes, thermal springs neighbouring with cedar forests, alpine meadows and thick wild taiga, snow-covered peaks of mountains, sandy beaches and blue mirror-like surface of Lake Baikal.

Sights

Usually tourists coming to Chivyrkuy Bay cannot but visit Snake Bay (8 km off settlement Kurbulik) where there is a thermal natural spring bearing the same name. A lot of grass snakes used to inhabit this bay. However nowadays, they come across more rarely because of the anthropogenic impact. The flow rate of the spring is 20 m3/day with water temperature from +39 to +42ºC. Two log cabins were built here for bathing. The water, which is rich in hydrocarbon and sulphate-sodium, is used for treatment of musculoskeletal diseases.  

There are a lot landscape, geological, water, and botanical monuments of nature on this territory: Cape Ongonsky, Island Bolshoy Baklany, Malocheremshanskaya Cave, singing sands, Islands Bolshoy and Maly Kyltygey, Snake Spring, Nechevsky Spring, Lake Arangatuy, Cheremshanskaya grove and others. A great number of archeological findings have been preserved (Neolithic settlements, plate graves of the 2nd century BC, graves of late nomads of XIV-XV centuries, traces of ancient irrigation system, and over 30 settlements of the Bronze and Early Iron Ages).

Fauna and flora  

Special protected regime in Chivyrkuy Bay helped preserve diverse animal world. The fauna of this area is represented by brown bear (a lot of bears come across the eastern shore), fox, wolf, sable, hare, squirrel, elk, Manchurian deer, roe and others. In water bodies, there are otters and muskrats. Black-capped marmot and reindeer are typical representatives of the mountain-taiga complex. In autumn during the storm season, it is possible to see here seal, an endemic mammal of Lake Baikal. Pinnipeds migrate from Ushkanyi Islands to Chivyrkuy Bay where they stay till the ice covers the lake and then migrate to the open waters of the lake.

There are a lot of birds in the nature conservation zone of Zabaikal National Park: 241 species of birds recorded in the Red Book (whooper swan, white-tailed eagle, Pallas' sea eagle, hooded crane, black stork, and peregrine). Waterfowl is one of the most abundant groups of birds in Chivyrkuy Bay. Rookeries of herring and common gulls are located on Islands Bolshoy and Maly Kyltygey. The bogs of Svyatoy Nos Isthmus are the largest place for nesting Baikal waterfowl: wild duck, European teal, pintail, dunbird, and goldeneye. The order Anseriformes is represented by 25 species. At present, the abundance of whooper swan has been restored. Great cormorant sometimes can be seen in Chivyrkuy Bay. It is easy to imagine what a bird hubbub in spring occurs in this area during nesting.

Zabaikal National Park is rich in fish; omul, whitefish, grayling, burbot, pike, perch, dace, ide, roach and others. Chivyrkuy Bay is one of the main sites of spawning for lacustrine whitefish. Omul of larger sizes comes from Lake Baikal to the Bolshoy Chivyrkuy River for spawning.

Flora of this National Park is unique making up over 20% of the flora of Zabaikalye. The mountainous relief divided vertically the cover structure into belts. There are a lot of endemic, rare and relict plants. Pine, cedar, larch, and fir prevail among trees, as well as birch, aspen and alder. In the mountainous-taiga area of Svyatoy Nos Peninsular bushes of rhododendron and cedar elfin wood are usual vegetation, whereas at the foot of the mountains there are raspberry canes, in particular. On the eastern shore of the bay, tourists can find abundance of cranberries and bilberries.

The flora of the Svyatoy Nos Isthmus is striking: on the small patch, high-altitude elfin wood cedar and various bushes can grow together with steppe or desert locoweed and Popov’s poppy. Pine and bird cherry tree creep on the ground, it is possible to pick cedar cones from the ground. Taller pines and cedars are of a flag-like form.

Fishing

Chivyrkuy Bay is famous for its abundance of fishes. It is considered to be a paradise for fishermen. In summer, fishermen catch perch (average weight of 0.5-1 kg), roach, and pike (average weight of 4-8 kg). In June and from late August till late September, fishermen can catch very large specimens – if they are lucky, they catch pikes of up to 15 kg and over 1 kg perch. In lagoons, ide hides in algae which cover the bottom. Lenok and grayling inhabit the rivers.

The commercial fishing is banned in this area. Fishermen come to the bay by water or by car along the cross-country road.

Where to stay

Holidaymakers, tourists and fishermen usually stay in tents or on board the yachts.

Besides, there is:
  • Floating tourist camp “Ecotour”, Snake Bay
  • Specialized fishing camp “Baikal Land”, Bezymyannaya Bay

It is important to know:

  • Chivyrkuy Bay is included in the territory of Zabaikal National Park. The attendance is paid and is regulated by certain rules.
  • It is possible to get from Irkutsk to Chivyrkuy Bay by car. The distance between Irkutsk and Chivyrkuy is 750 km. There are no problems with petrol and food on the way to Chivyrkuy Bay.
  • The cordon of Zabaikal National Park is situated on the way to settlement Monakhovo. The entry is paid. Then the road goes to settlements Katun and Kurbulik.
  • There are no mosquitoes on sandy beaches of Chivurkuy Bay.
  • You should havespecial facilities for protection againstgnats andmosquitoes whilebeing onKulichyi bogs.
  • Before traveling you have to be vaccinated against tick-borne encephalitis and special facilities.
  • Take binoculars with you – you will have a chance to watch the birds.
 
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru

Чивыркуйский залив

О заливе
ИЗ КНИГИ В.В. ЛАМАКИНА "ПО БЕРЕГАМ И ОСТРОВАМ БАЙКАЛА"
Москва: Наука. 1965г.
"Чивыркуйский залив - обособленный уголок Байкала, который во многом отличается от всех других районов озера. В то время как байкальская природа очень сурова, Чивыркуйский залив изумляет путешественника ласковым видом. Его сравнительно пологие берега отличаются мягкими очертаниями и почти сплошь заросли лесом. Высокие горы, которые поднимаются в середине полуострова Святой Нос, и гольцовые вершины на южной оконечности Баргузинского хребта отодвинулись от залива. В берега залива глубоко вдаются узкие уютные бухты. Глубина Чивыркуйского залива невелика, а на юге, в своей оконечности, он совсем мелкий. Здесь залив ограничивается наносным Чивыркуйским перешейком, по другую сторону которого находится Баргузинский залив. Из-за того, что Чивыркуйский залив мелок, вода в нем хорошо прогревается летом; она подолгу здесь цветет, т.е. наполняется множеством мельчайших водорослей. Сильные волнения из открытого Байкала в залив не заходят".
География и происхождение
Второй по величине залив Байкала - Чивыркуйский, расположился на северо-востоке озера. По площади (270 км²) он уступает лишь Баргузинскому заливу. С западной стороны Чивыркуй ограничен горными вершинами полуострова Святой нос (бурятское название «Хилмэн-Хушун» - «Морда осётра»), с востока - отрогами Баргузинского хребта. Высокие восточный и западный берега, сложенные древними гранитами, сильно расчленены и изобилуют многочисленными живописными бухтами и мысами с дикими песчаными пляжами, окруженными лесистыми склонами. С юга залив отгорожен Святоносским (или Чивыркуйским) перешейком, берег здесь низменный, насыпной, заболоченный.
Когда-то гористый полуостров Святой Нос был островом, отделенным от берега нешироким проливом. Приблизительно 7-8 тыс. лет тому назад он соединился с материком - реки Малый Чивыркуй и Баргузин и байкальские шторма заполнили пролив илом и песком. В результате намывной, озерно-болотный Святоносский перешеек (его местное название Мягкая Карга) превратил остров в единственный крупный полуостров на Байкале - Святой Нос, а пролив - в Чивыркуйский залив протяженностью 26 км, при ширине от 6 до 12 км.
Вся территория залива входит в природоохранную зону Забайкальского национального парка. Из 7 островов Чивыркуя: Большого Бакланьего, Большого Кылтыгея, Малого Кылтыгея, Белого Камня, Святой Елены, Покойницкого Камня и Коврижки первые четыре являются памятниками природы. Все они объявлены заповедными зонами с ограниченным доступом.
Название
Считается, что современное название залива произошло от реки Большой Чивыркуй, впадающей в него с северной части. В эвенкийском языке слово «чивир» имеет значения «извиваться», «двигаться», «шевелиться». По другой версии название Чивыркуй пошло от бурятского «шэбэр» - «чаща, густой лес, заросли», «шэвэрхуу» - «заросший густым лесом».
Население
Чивыркуй малолюден. На берегах залива расположились всего три небольших поселка - Монахово, Катунь и Курбулик. Общее количество дворов Катуни и Курбулика - сорок-пятьдесят, а в Монахово около десятка. В Курбулике находится кордон Забайкальского национального парка, есть магазин. Большая часть автотуристов останавливается в Монахово.
Глубина и температура воды
Внутренняя часть залива мелководная. Достигая 600 метров на входе, глубина быстро уменьшается в южном направлении, не превышая 10-20 м, а в бухтах - 5 м. Большое количество солнечных дней позволяет водам Чивыркуя хорошо прогреться. Летом, к началу августа, температура воды достигает 20-22 градусов, а в южной части даже выше. В этом уникальном месте природа позаботилась обо всем для полноценного летнего отдыха: закрытые от ветров уютные бухты, чистые песчаные пляжи и теплая прозрачная вода.
Ландшафты
Сочетание самых разнообразных и поражающих воображение байкальских ландшафтов на небольшой территории - еще один фактор, делающий Чивыркуйский залив необычайно привлекательным для туристов. Здесь можно увидеть песчаные валы, перемежающиеся озерами и маревыми болотами, термальные источники, соседствующие с кедровыми лесами, альпийские луга и глухую, дикую тайгу, заснеженные вершины гор, песчаные пляжи и голубую гладь Байкала.
Достопримечательности
Обычно туристы, приезжающие на Чивыркуй, не обходят своим вниманием Бухту Змеиная (8 км от пос. Курбулика), где из под земли выходит термальный природный источник с тем же названием. Когда-то в этой местности обитало множество ужей, которые все реже появляются теперь в результате антропогенной нагрузки. Дебит источника составляет 20 кубометров в сутки, температура воды от +39° до +42°С. Здесь построено два деревянных сруба для купания. Гидрокарбонатно-сульфатно-натриевая вода целебна и используется для лечения костно-мышечных заболеваний.
Территория залива богата памятниками природы: ландшафтными, геологическими, водными, ботаническими (мыс Онгоконский, остров Большой Бакланий, Малочеремшанская пещера, поющие пески, острова Большой и Малый Кылтыгей, источник Змеиный, Нечаевский источник, озеро Арангатуй, Черемшанская роща и др.). Также сохранилось множество археологических находок (неолитические стоянки, плиточные могилы II в. до н.э., могилы поздних кочевников XIV-XV вв., следы древней оросительной системы, более 30 поселений бронзового и раннего железного веков).
Животный и растительность мир
Особый охранный режим позволил сохранить разнообразный животный мир Чивыркуя. Фауна этих мест представлена бурым медведем (особенно много медведей на восточном берегу), лисицей, волком, соболем, зайцем, белкой, лосем, изюбром, косулей др. В водоемах обитает выдра и ондатра. Типичными представителями горнотаёжного комплекса являются черношапочный сурок, северный олень. Осенью, с наступлением сезона штормов, здесь можно увидеть эндемика озера Байкал - нерпу. Ластоногие перекочевывают с Ушканьих островов в Чивыркуйский залив, где отдыхают до установления льда и уходят в открытое озеро.
В природоохранной зоне Забайкальского национального парка особенно много пернатых. Здесь насчитывается 241 вид птиц, многие из которых занесены в Красную Книгу (лебедь-кликун, орлан-белохвост, орлан-долгохвост, черный журавль, черный аист, сокол сапсан). Одной из самых многочисленных групп птиц Чивыркуйского залива являются водоплавающие. На островах Большой и Малый Кылтыгей расположены птичьи базары серебристых и сизых чаек. А болота Святоносского перешейка - крупнейшее место гнездования водоплавающих Байкала: обыкновенная кряква, чирок-свистунок, шилохвость, красноголовый нырок, гоголь, только отряд Гусеобразных представлен 25 видами. Сейчас восстанавливается численность лебедя-кликуна. Изредка встречается в Чивыркуе исчезнувший на Байкале большой баклан. Нетрудно себе представить, какой птичий гомон наполняет окрестности весной, в период гнездования.
Забайкальский парк богат рыбой. Здесь водятся омуль, сиг, хариус, налим, щука, окунь, елец, язь, плотва и др. Чивыркуйский залив - одно из основных мест нереста озерной формы сига. А в реку Большой Чивыркуй, впадающую в северную часть залива, идет на икрометание наиболее крупный омуль из Байкала.
Растительный мир парка уникален и составляет более 20 % всей флоры Забайкалья. Горный рельеф обусловил вертикальную поясность структуры покрова. Много эндемичных, редких и реликтовых растений. Среди деревьев господствует сосна, кедр, лиственница, пихта с примесью березы, осины и ольхи. В подлеске горно-таежного массива Святого носа обычны заросли рододендрона и кедрового стланика, а под горой растут различные кустарники, в частности малинники. На восточном берегу залива обилие клюквы и черники.
Удивительна растительность Святоносского перешейка. Здесь, на одном пяточке, могут соседствовать высокогорный стланиковый кедр и степные или пустынные астрагал и мак Попова. По земле стелется и сосна и черемуха, с земли же можно рвать кедровые шишки, а более высокие сосны и кедры приобрели флагообразную форму.
Рыбалка
Чивыркуйский залив славится, как край изобилия рыбы и байкальский рыболовный рай. Летом здесь ловятся окуни (средний вес 0,5-1 кг), сорога, щуки (средний вес 4-8 кг). В июне, а также с конца августа до конца сентября вылавливаются особо крупные экземпляры - если повезет, то щуки весом до 15 кг, и трех и более килограммовые окуни. В бухтах, дно которых покрыто ковром водорослей, держится язь. В реках встречаются ленок и хариус.
Промышленный улов рыбы запрещен. Рыбаки добираются до залива по Байкалу или по проселочным дорогам на автомобилях.
Где жить
Отдыхающие, туристы и рыбаки живут в основном в палатках или на яхтах.
Кроме того:
  • Плавучая турбаза «Экотур», бухта Змеиная
  • Специализированная рыболовная база «Земля Байкала», бухта Безымянная.
Что нужно знать
  • Чивыркуйский залив полностью входит в территорию Забайкальского национального парка, посещение его платное и регламентируется определенными правилами.
  • Из Иркутска в Чивыркуйский залив можно доехать на машине. Расстояние по автодорогам Иркутск - Чивыркуй 750 км. Проблем с бензином и продуктами в пути не возникает.
  • На въезде в с. Монахово - кордон Забайкальского национального парка. Въезд платный. Дальше дорога идет до поселков Катунь и Курбулик.
  • На песчаных пляжах Чивыркуя комаров нет.
  • На Куличьих болотах защита от мошки и комаров необходима.
  • Перед поездкой необходимо сделать прививку от клещевого энцефалита и запастись специальными средствами.
  • Возьмите бинокль - захочется понаблюдать за птицами.
 
            .НОЦ Байкал
Проект ИГУ
Этот сайт разработан ЦНИТ ИГУ при поддержке Научно-образовательного центра "Байкал". Большинство представленных на сайте научно-популярных статей подготовлены сотрудниками ИГУ.
 
 
Copyright © 2005-2010 ЦНИТ ИГУ, site@baikal.ru